Rachel K CC Cream, CC Cream, Korean CC Cream

I’m back from an epic weekend in Sydney and as promised from my previous post on { CC Creams }, here is my review of Rachel K Neutral CC Cream.

My Scottish Asian friend who is currently on a working holiday visa in Australia stopped off in Hong Kong before arriving here and I was only allowed to get one beauty product (as her luggage allowance was WAY overweight) and it was either Shiseido Foundation Brush or Shu Uemura Face Powder (it’s my favourite face powder!) or Chanel Pirate Lipstick or YSL Glossy Stain or Rachel K CC Cream – and I chose the last option.  I loved the first BB Cream to ever grace my face (Missha BB Cream – which I have stupidly not reviewed on the blog!!) so when I heard that CC Cream was a more refined version of BB Cream, you can see why I had HUGE expectations for Rachel K CC Cream.  And kill me now because it did NOT live up to its hype!

About Rachel K CC Cream

Rachel K is a Singaporean brand and the founder is Rachel Kum who was Miss Singapore Universe 2009.  But the CC Cream is made in Korea.

There are currently 2 shades available :-

  • Original (black tube) – pink undertones
  • Neutral (pink tube) – yellow undertones

According to the back of the tube, CC Cream is a much more refined and improved BB Cream which combines various benefits all in one :-

  • Colour control
  • Oil control
  • Whitening
  • Brightening
  • Moisturising
  • UV protection with SPF 35 PA ++
  • Enhances complexion by improving its texture
  • Balances skin tone
  • Gives a flawless, non-oily (matte) and radiant complexion
How To Apply
Put a blob on palm and use fingertips to gently dab onto face in a gentle patting motion to slowly build up coverage.


Rachel K CC Cream ingredients

CC Cream ingredients, Rachel K

It’s the first cosmetic product that I have come across which contains EGF (Epidermal Growth Factor) which is found in my favourite BioEffect EGF Serum!


Rachel K CC Cream Swatches

Rachel K CC Cream Swatches, Missha BB Cream Swatches, Skin 79 BB Cream Swatches

I swatched Rachel K CC Cream (Neutral) alongside popular BB Creams.

My Thoughts

Rachel K CC Cream pink tube, Rachel K CC Cream swatches

Packaging :  It’s pink and cute.  Nozzle isn’t my favourite as it gets dirty easily.  Prefer the Missha pump dispenser or a thinner nozzle would be better.

Texture :  It’s very similar to the original Asian BB Creams (balm-like) but not as thick.  Would be a plus point for easier application.

Smell :  Non-offensive

Performance :  This is the ultimate test.  And it failed so badly.  On numerous occasions…here’s my story…and bear in mind, I have DRY SKIN…

Usually for me when I use BB Creams, there’s no need to apply primer as BB Creams glide on easily and blend fantastically to give me a lovely glowy appearance.  The first time I used Rachel K CC Cream, I didn’t use primer and my face looked HIDEOUS!  (See the photo above) It was patchy and all my flaky skin was highlighted.  Honestly, I have never seen my skin so hideous before!

Rachel K CC Cream review

So the next time, I used primer beforehand.  And still, my face refused to show any love to Rachel KK CC Cream.  It applies really patchy for me no matter how I try and blend it in.  It also loves to show off my flakies.  As you can see, the colour doesn’t adapt well to my skin tone like my other BB Creams.  And there isn’t that lovely glow I associate with BB Creams.

Coverage is reasonable and I guess it fills in my fine lines and pores and hides redness really well…but that’s all the benefits I can see.

Sigh.  I guess the CC Cream formula is too dry for my dry skin.  CC Cream is probably more suited to those with oily / combination skins who broke out with BB Creams.  Whereas BB Creams is definitely more suited to dry-skinned ladies like me.

Anyway, I’m over CC Creams and very glad that I didn’t order the Chanel CC Cream (my friend from China arrives tomorrow!).  I’ll stick to BB Creams because they work for my skin.  But don’t let that deter you from trying CC Creams when they get released worldwide.

Beauty Breakdown Of Rachel K Neutral CC Cream

Pros : Supposedly a refined version of BB Creams, drier formula makes it more suitable for oily / combination skins, colour is less grey compared to original BB Creams, more lightweight & less thick than original BB Creams, good coverage

Cons
:  For me, I need to use a primer beforehand, highlights flakies, not easily available to purchase outside of Asia

What do you think?  Will you be jumping on the CC Cream bandwagon?  Do you think the brands will come up with DD Cream next?

 

24 Comments on Asian Beauty : Review of Rachel K Neutral CC Cream

  1. ponikuta
    01/10/2012 at 12:19 pm (5 years ago)

    Hey Ling,

    I am loving my CC cream, in fact I’m wearing it (got the black tube, pink undertone) one. Do you think your application method might be the reason why it didn’t take onto your skin?

  2. ponikuta
    01/10/2012 at 12:22 pm (5 years ago)

    Ops not done yet, I think you’re not suppose to rub between your balm for application. I dab and pat onto my skin like recommended and sometimes smudge with my fingers in areas needed. I also recommend using the Shiseido foundation brush to buff in areas needed.

    BB cream/CC cream or all types of foundation, I think you’ll need primer regardless especially for dry skin types. So far CC cream is still at its very early stage and the colours available are often catered to fair skin, sucks to be tan! Same as Chanel CC cream, it only comes in one shade and has a white-ish finish.

    • Ling
      01/10/2012 at 12:28 pm (5 years ago)

      @ponikuta, I read your review and was so gutted that it didn’t work for me. I have tried applying directly to face and dabbing and that doesn’t work for me at all. Buffing with a foundation brush (not Shiseido, might I add 😛 *next on wishlist*) doesn’t work either – it doesn’t move very well…if that makes sense. Kinda too thick and dry??

      I’ve asked the Rachel K FB page for some tips so I will see what they say.

      And then I tried the iFiona CC Creams in Sydney and all of them are a lot lighter and more runny formulas so maybe they would work better for me – except I didn’t buy because, again, the colour! I don’t wanna be the white-faced Asian chick with tan neck!

      • ponikuta
        01/10/2012 at 1:28 pm (5 years ago)

        @Ling, Yea, I think 90% of Asian skin are oily/combination hence the formula is super lightweight and dries very quickly. Maybe try to prep with primer and mix it with moisturiser if it helps?

        • Ling
          01/10/2012 at 1:51 pm (5 years ago)

          @ponikuta, Oooh good idea about mixing it with moisturiser! Maybe it will spread and blend easier on my sandpaper skin 🙂

  3. javi
    01/10/2012 at 12:24 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Ling!! I just decided to enter to the bb creams world so I went to Missha to try on the bbcream but I couldn´t decide what shade to buy (and the girl in the store didn´t help me at all) and looking at the price, and comparing to the garnier one…do you think Missha is worthwhile??
    I bought a Mascara from Missha that day and it is horrible (after 3 hours I looked like a panda) so I´m not sure if the BBcream is going to be good…
    could you help me?

    • Ling
      01/10/2012 at 12:50 pm (5 years ago)

      @javi, Oh no! That’s a shame! I think it depends what kind of skin you have. Is it oily combination or dry or normal? I think it’s always best to try a little sample first – I am shocked the Missha girl didn’t give you a sample! Maybe next time you are there, ask them for a sample because they usually quite good for that. The colours are not amazing but it works for me.

      The Garnier BB Cream is like a tinted moisturiser and quite a lot of people like it. I do too but it’s not “really” a BB Cream as such. Again, all I can suggest is to test it out too.

      Let me know what else you need help with. Always happy to help you Javi

      • javi
        01/10/2012 at 12:52 pm (5 years ago)

        @Ling, thanks Ling, I´m gonna ask for a sample!!

        • Ling
          01/10/2012 at 1:50 pm (5 years ago)

          @javi, Yes 🙂

      • Ishah
        01/10/2012 at 1:21 pm (5 years ago)

        @Ling, Missha is my absolute favourite BB cream!

        • Ling
          01/10/2012 at 1:50 pm (5 years ago)

          @Ishah, Snap! Mine too! I love a bit of Skin 79 too!

  4. Ishah
    01/10/2012 at 1:19 pm (5 years ago)

    I have combination skin, so hopefully it works for me because I’vebeen really wanting to try CC cream! Sucks that it didn’t work out for you, maybe trying a different application method like ponikuta said could make a difference.

  5. cynthia
    01/10/2012 at 1:34 pm (5 years ago)

    I tried jumping on the BB cream bandwagon but my personal thought is that I’m not used to it. I find the texture of BB cream is thickest than foundation and to tinted moisturizer. Also BB cream tends to have two shades and I’m not too keen on looking gray. Thanks for the post about CC creams, bummer that it didn’t work for you.

    • Ling
      01/10/2012 at 1:52 pm (5 years ago)

      @cynthia, Yeah, the original BB Creams have a grey-ish tendency…but maybe try out CC Cream to see if you like it 🙂

  6. Sarah
    04/10/2012 at 5:56 pm (5 years ago)

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear that it doesn’t seem to be any good! 🙁 I was very interested in BB creams but find they tend to break my skin out if I use them for more than a couple of days in a row. When I heard about the CC creams I got curious again…. Now I’m not so keen on trying them lol! 😉

    • Ling
      07/10/2012 at 10:38 pm (5 years ago)

      @Sarah, Boohoo! Skin breakouts are sucky!!! And yeah, it’s disappointing when there is a hype about some new product but it doesn’t do anything for you 🙁 Are you a foundation girl then?

      • Sarah
        08/10/2012 at 9:29 pm (5 years ago)

        @Ling, Yes I use foundation and powder to set it but I find that any foundation or BB with SPF will be what breaks me out! Every time. I can use SPF on its own and then an SPF free foundation, but even with an SPF free moisturiser as a base, my skin dislikes BBs! 🙁

        • Ling
          09/10/2012 at 10:13 pm (5 years ago)

          @Sarah, You and BB are not meant to be 🙁

          • Sarah
            10/10/2012 at 1:23 pm (5 years ago)

            @Ling, yup! But I’ve gotta take some more for the team as I have a few Indonesian BBs that I’m due to road test next month! If I don’t wear it more than once a week I get away with it 😉

            • Ling
              11/10/2012 at 9:29 pm (5 years ago)

              @Sarah, Indonesian BBs??? COOOOOOOL!!!! Never tried Indonesian products before!

  7. Anna
    03/01/2013 at 4:46 am (4 years ago)

    I bought the black one, and on first application, it was lovely but after a few hours, it makes me look like someone soaking my face in a deep frying pan. I tried it for the second time, and I really don’t get the hype.

    • Ling
      03/01/2013 at 8:18 pm (4 years ago)

      @Anna, Oh boo! Me too! I don’t get the hype of CC creams either. Have you tried any other CC creams like Chanel?

      • Anna
        04/01/2013 at 8:57 am (4 years ago)

        @Ling, No,I haven’t tried it yet. For the time being,I’ll stick to moisturize + sunblock + liquid foundation 🙂

1Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Asian Beauty : Review of Rachel K Neutral CC Cream