NYX Round & Black Label Lipsticks – Swatches & Review

UPDATE : More NYX lipstick swatches can be viewed here.

Being a beauty blogger is really bad for my rapidly depleting bank balance! And although, I KNOW I should not be spending, I cannot resist…especially when NYX was doing a 50% sale recently on Cherry Culture. I’ve heard many good things about NYX lipsticks but there were so many shades to choose from on the website and the swatches provided were tiny thumbnails so it was pretty difficult but in the end, I chose 3 different shades – Frappucino from NYX Round Lipstick range and Peachy and Apple from the NYX Luxurious Black Label Lipstick range.



NYX lipsticks



The Round Lipsticks are slightly cheaper than the Black Label range but I didn’t notice much difference in the formula but the packaging is somewhat fancier in the Black Label range.

NYX Lipstick Swatches



NYX, lipstick swatches, round lipstick. black label lipstick, red, nude



 

NYX Round Lipstick : Frappucino


NYX lipstick swatches on lips


Frappucino is a creamy caramel pink.  I simply love it!!!  It glided on my lips beautifully and I really think it suits my skin tone.  Some lipsticks can really dry out lips but not this one.  My lips are happily moisturised.  It has definitely replaced my previous favourite rosy pink lippy by Bourjois.

NYX Black Label Lipstick : Peachy



NYX, lipstick swatch, lipstick swatches on lips



Peachy is a frosty coral with gold shimmer.  I am sure that some ladies can pull off this lippy but sadly, it aint for me.

NYX Black Label Lipstick : Apple



NYX, lipstick swatch, red lipstick, the best, NYX lipstick swatches on lips



Apple is an attention-seeking red with orange undertones.  Orange lippies are the new trend for Spring / Summer 2011 (yes, I know it’s Winter in Australia but I’m Scottish so I still think it’s Summer!).  When I wear this, I feel like I have juicy luscious lips – but in reality, my Husband gets a bit freaked out with the blazing colour.  LOL.

My Opinions

Some lipsticks need to be applied with a lip brush but NYX lippies can be applied straight from the tube.  Staying power is 2-3 hours but to make them last longer, line and fill in your lips with lip pencil.  There is a faint scent which doesn’t bother me.  As they are so cheap (under $8 each), it is so easy to build up a small collection of them.  NYX lipsticks have definitely won me over!

Hugely annoying that NYX cosmetics are not easily available in Australia – but when they are, the shops sell them at triple their US prices – even though Aussie $ is stronger than American $.  Gurrrr!!!  I bought my NYX goodies from Cherry Culture at 50% off but the shipping fee cost more than the products in the end!!!  What else did I buy?  NYX Book of Shadows!  Review and swatches coming soon.








28 Comments on NYX Round & Black Label Lipsticks – Swatches & Review

  1. DanniiBeauty
    06/06/2011 at 1:14 pm (4 years ago)

    I love the NYX lipsticks! I have the normal round ones and love the texture of them. Frappucino looks gorgeous!
    I buy them from crush cosmetics or tanty cosmetics.

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:33 pm (4 years ago)

      @DanniiBeauty, Oooh, never heard of tanty cosmetics but thanks for letting me know! Must check it out. For the price, these lippies are seriously good!

  2. Vintage Makeup
    06/06/2011 at 1:16 pm (4 years ago)

    Frappucino is so pretty! I’ll have to check these out :)

  3. Rainy Days & Lattes
    06/06/2011 at 1:59 pm (4 years ago)

    SOOOOO pretty! I don’t have any of these colors, but I have other ones. These are so pretty on your lips! ^_^

  4. Fashimi
    06/06/2011 at 5:08 pm (4 years ago)

    Oooooh, pretty colours! Want!

    ♥♥♥

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:35 pm (4 years ago)

      @Fashimi, :D I wish I had more than one set of lips for my growing collection of lippies ;)

  5. Ik
    06/06/2011 at 5:13 pm (4 years ago)

    When I first saw this in the tube, I decided I liked peachy.. But on your lips, I cant decide what I like more! They’re all beautiful! Frappucino is more wearable, definitely.. but the other two are lovely too!! And I actually like peachy on you.. very pretty.. Apple es hot!!!:)

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:36 pm (4 years ago)

      @Ik, Yeah, Peachy doesn’t seem to suit me :( But I have figured out a way to make it wearable!! Will blog about it later :D And thank you so much for your compliments :D

  6. coco
    06/06/2011 at 8:37 pm (4 years ago)

    i can’t believe i didn’t buy a lipstick from that sale! i like frapucinno and apple, something to consider next time.

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:36 pm (4 years ago)

      @coco, That was an amazing sale Coco!!! I want more!!!

  7. msmadamemakeup
    06/06/2011 at 10:45 pm (4 years ago)

    all of these look great! u have great shaped lips though! I buy nyx from tanty cosmetics, they dont have the entire range but the have free shipping in aus xx

  8. bhumika
    06/06/2011 at 11:10 pm (4 years ago)

    Frappucino is gorgeousss…n apple looks such a pretty coral on u..

  9. bhumika
    06/06/2011 at 11:12 pm (4 years ago)

    try tea rose shade from the round 1 next..u wud love it…

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:37 pm (4 years ago)

      @bhumika, Thanks for the tip! I will check it out :D

  10. Lekshmi
    07/06/2011 at 12:06 am (4 years ago)

    i liked frappucino :)

    • Ling Tung
      07/06/2011 at 11:38 pm (4 years ago)

      @Lekshmi, I also like the drink too LOL

  11. Adia
    14/01/2012 at 8:45 am (3 years ago)

    NYX Black Label Lipstick in Apple looks amazing!

    • Ling
      14/01/2012 at 11:45 am (3 years ago)

      @Adia, Oh it is! I always get compliments with it :D

  12. The Doll Princess (Val)
    15/03/2012 at 7:04 pm (3 years ago)

    You should try Ruby! :D My lips don’t dry out – I really have severely dry lips :(

    It’s a nice red color ^^

    Btw, lovin the first swatch picture ^^

4Pingbacks & Trackbacks on NYX Round & Black Label Lipsticks – Swatches & Review

  1. […] is a pink caramel shade which reminds me of another lipstick in my collection – NYX Frappucino.  Another love at first swipe!VoluptasVoluptas is a bright red with hints of orange.  For some […]

  2. Sunday Funday #2 : Busy Bee | The Best Beauty Blog says:

    […] please check out Illamasqua’s Facebook Page.♥  This week I got compliments for wearing NYX Apple on my lips.  It’s just a beautiful red colour which would suit all skintones.  I also […]

  3. […] can’t live without Bioeffect EGF Serum, NYX Black Label Lipstick in Apple, Shu Uemura eyelash curlers, Invisible Zinc ESP Environmental Skin Protector SPF 30+ and Urban Decay […]

  4. […] beauty blog Lip Stalker.Pink Truffle is one of those pink nudey brown shades; kinda similar to NYX Frappucino.  Pink Truffle applied much easier than Macaroon and has a smooth, even, semi-glossy finish.I know […]