review of Hitachi Hada CRiE, hitachi hadacrie

I know that we’re still in the first quarter of 2012, but I believe that Hitachi Hada CRiE (model CM-N800-V) is going to be my favourite beauty purchase of the year.  Hitachi Hada CRiE is the bee’s knees / the cat’s pyjamas / the bomb – it is phenomenal and worth every dollar my Husband’s credit card I paid for it ($1880 HKD = $250 AUD).  It is “Japan’s No.1 beauty gadget” for a reason!  And it is so amazing that I have written this long and in-depth review about it.

About Hitachi Hada CRiE

Warning :  Poorly translated English copied and pasted from the Hitachi HK website.

Hitachi Hada CRiE, Ion Cleansing with Moisturizing Support Device which gets the Japan Sales No.1 makes your skin beautiful through several steps. You can achieve three wishes at the same time, pore cleansing, moisturizing and wrinkle reducing. Now you can enjoy a facial treatment with the level of beauty salon at your home!

So that is very confusing so allow me to elaborate from my personal experience…

The Hitachi Hada CRiE has 4 functions : Cleansing, Micro-Pat, Moisturize and Refresh.

The smooth metal head (with and without cotton pad) is designed to give your face a deep cleanse to exfoliate away all the dead skin and debris, which will help maximise the efficacy of skincare products and in doing so, will refresh, revitalise and rejuvenate skin.  With the vibrations and pulses, it’s like giving my face a massage which helps plump up my skin.  It’s like an Asian version of the Clarisonic without the harshness of using a brush head and with extra functions.

how to use Hitachi Hada CRiE, Face Crie, hitachi hadacrie

How To Use It

  • It can get a bit confusing at first but with a little trial and error, I have figured out how to master the Hitachi Hada CRiE to suit my skin’s needs.
  • It has a rechargeable battery and there are no cords so I use my Hitachi Hada CRiE everywhere around the house which is fantastic.
  • It has sensor pads so if you’re not holding onto it properly, it won’t work and it will stop when the head is not touching skin.  How smart!
  • All you need are cotton pads, a selection of toners and a sheet mask.
  • Each function works for 5 minutes and stops automatically.
  • I use it all over my face in the motions as shown in the picture and avoid my delicate eye area.
  • I remove all make-up and cleanse my face before using Hitachi Hada CRiE – which amazes me even more when I realise that my normal cleansing skills are totally inadequate at removing all dirt!

Not all the 4 functions are designed for daily use and they work and pulse in different ways :

Cleansing : daily use, cotton pad soaked in cleansing water or toner (I like to use Bioderma Crealine H2O or INSETA [World Spirit] H2o)
Micro-Pat : daily use, no cotton pad, spray toner on face and keep it wet to avoid dry burns (I like to use Comvita Hydrating Toning Mist or Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moist Mist)
Moisturize : daily use, cotton pad soaked in a moisturising toner (I like to use Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion or Pond’s Flawless White Toner)
Refresh : weekly use, over a sheet mask (I’ve been using it over My Beauty Diary face sheet masks but any sheet mask will do)

Hitachi Hada CRiE review, photos, hadacrie, face crie

Why I Love Hitachi Hada CRiE

  • The results are immediate and plain to see.  It’s just so satisfying to see the amount of dirt and gunk on the cotton pad after using Hitachi Hada CRiE.
  • I have had no breakouts or purging or dry, flaky skin or any irritations with using this whatsoever.
  • It is so easy to use.  And it is smart too because it knows when you’re not in contact with your skin and stops and starts accordingly.
  • My skin is left feeling clean but not in a harsh squeaky clean kinda way – because it allows me to add moisture and hydration afterwards with its extra functions and plumps it up with the massaging motions.
  • My pores are no longer clogged and blackheads pop out really easy.
  • I can also use this on other parts of my body.  And I have had fun using this on my Husband and on my Mum and my Sister – it’s fun to compare who has the dirtiest cotton pads!  LOL.
  • I must add that it is pretty in pink too!  And it’s lightweight and the rechargeable battery lasts for a long time!  I’ve only charged it twice since I bought this in January!
hadacrie, face crie
Simply put, Hitachi Hada CRiE has been a great investment for my skin and I cannot highly recommend it enough.

 

I bought mine in Hong Kong in Fortress, (Sha Tin or Mong Kok  – can’t quite remember) and they obviously have it in Japan and around Asia…but for others around the world, try Amazon 🙂

What has been your favourite beauty purchase of 2012, thus far?

80 Comments on Review Of Hitachi Hada CRiE – Japan’s No. 1 Beauty Gadget

    • Ling
      13/03/2012 at 3:03 pm (6 years ago)

      @Celeste @ Becoming Beautiful, I haven’t used a Clarisonic before because I don’t think my sensitive skin cannot handle using a brush… but I gotta say that this Hada CRiE cleanses and exfoliates so well, yet so gentle. It’s LOVE!

  1. Tram
    13/03/2012 at 4:21 pm (6 years ago)

    Aww!! This sucksssssssssssssssssssssss. Only available in Asia? :'(

    Thanks for the review! Now.. away for the research 😛

    • Ling
      13/03/2012 at 9:27 pm (6 years ago)

      @Tram, It does suck indeed! Hopefully, it’ll be available to buy in Australia soon…

    • Heidi
      07/02/2013 at 4:11 am (5 years ago)

      @Tram, you can buy it from amazon.com

  2. Eden-Avalon
    14/03/2012 at 3:53 pm (6 years ago)

    D: Jealouuuuuus! i wish I coudl buy this! It looks amazing.

    • Ling
      15/03/2012 at 2:03 pm (6 years ago)

      @Eden-Avalon, Works wonders, I tell ya!

  3. espenine
    15/03/2012 at 2:23 am (6 years ago)

    Hi, may i know what in HK you bought this?

    • Ling
      15/03/2012 at 2:06 pm (6 years ago)

      @espenine, I bought it in Fortress! But I have heard that it is sold out everywhere in Hong Kong! It’s a very popular product!

  4. Kate
    23/03/2012 at 8:12 pm (6 years ago)

    After reading your review, I ordered mine from JapanTrendyMall dot com. They shipped to me in Singapore in less than a week and only cost me about 300 Singapore dollars. Only downside is all Japanese menu. But with so much information written in Hk websites & your blog, that was solvable. I’m now loving it so much. It really work.

    • Ling
      26/03/2012 at 2:06 pm (6 years ago)

      @Kate, Oh I love it sooooo much!!! It’s even mentioned on Bubzbeauty’s newest favourites video today 😛

    • qq
      26/03/2012 at 7:59 pm (6 years ago)

      @Kate, i just order from there too i hope it comes soon

    • S. Partovi
      09/04/2012 at 1:12 pm (6 years ago)

      @Kate, The menu is in Japanese but the manual is bilingual, ENGLISH and JAPANESE.

      Thank you

  5. J
    26/03/2012 at 9:43 am (6 years ago)

    Is the unit waterproof? Since you can use it with products without a cotton pad and have to wash the head, is it safe enough to just use it in the shower for cleansing purposes?

    • Ling
      26/03/2012 at 2:13 pm (6 years ago)

      @J, I don’t actually think it is recommended for use in the shower. I haven’t tried it…but I don’t want to kill my totally-awesome beauty gadget 😉

  6. Dorothy
    26/03/2012 at 5:41 pm (6 years ago)

    HK Broadway restocked last week. I got mine there

    • Ling
      27/03/2012 at 1:27 pm (6 years ago)

      @Dorothy, Woohoo! Thanks for letting us know. Do you like it??

  7. qq
    26/03/2012 at 8:01 pm (6 years ago)

    do u do this everyday ?

    • Ling
      27/03/2012 at 1:27 pm (6 years ago)

      @qq, I do it maybe 4 times a week. It is so easy to do!

  8. Taelin
    26/03/2012 at 9:29 pm (6 years ago)

    I was considering the Clarisonic, but this sounds perfect. Looking forward to getting my hands on one soon, domo arigato for sharing! x

    • Ling
      27/03/2012 at 1:27 pm (6 years ago)

      @Taelin, No problemo! 🙂

  9. qq
    27/03/2012 at 7:58 pm (6 years ago)

    @Ling, i have the Clarisonic and i love it. do u think i can use both ? one to clean and one to moisturize ?

    • Ling
      28/03/2012 at 12:27 pm (6 years ago)

      @qq, Hitachi Hada CRiE cleans face amazingly!! I see the dirt on the cotton pads all the time. I wouldn’t bother with Clarisonic 😉

  10. Sally
    07/04/2012 at 2:04 pm (6 years ago)

    I bought this from a seller in Japan. I was wondering if yours machine pulse/vibrate continously when you put on your skin? Because mine, for example under cleansing, vibrates a bit, stops a bit, vibrates a bit, stops a bit, etc. Is that normal?? Thanks!

    • Anis
      07/04/2012 at 11:43 pm (6 years ago)

      @Sally,I bought mine off ebay from a seller in Japan. Yup mine vibrates a bit and then stops a bit then the cycle continues. I think its pretty normal.

      • Sally
        09/04/2012 at 1:32 pm (6 years ago)

        @Anis,

        Haha, me too! Maybe we bought it from the same seller lol. But yeah, it’s good to know that the vibration cycle is normal.

    • Ling
      10/04/2012 at 2:13 pm (6 years ago)

      @Sally, Yes, mine does the same Sally 🙂

  11. Anis
    07/04/2012 at 11:45 pm (6 years ago)

    Btw, Thank You for your post on how to use Hada Crie. Really helps me a lot.

    • Ling
      10/04/2012 at 2:15 pm (6 years ago)

      @Anis, Yay! No problem 🙂 Do you love it? I do!!!

  12. S. Partovi
    09/04/2012 at 1:14 pm (6 years ago)

    The Hada Crie menu is in Japanese but the manual is bilingual, ENGLISH and JAPANESE.

    Thank you

    • Ling
      10/04/2012 at 2:17 pm (6 years ago)

      @S. Partovi, Yes, thanks for letting us know 🙂

  13. Joyce
    11/04/2012 at 12:18 am (6 years ago)

    Hi Ling,
    I’ve purchased this one recently as well but i’m a little confused about mode 2 and 3. My daily skin routine is simply toner, a serum and cream. But the instruction said for mode 3 don’t put any milky lotion or gel like lotion, I’m not sure what should i use for mode 3 since i’ve already use my toner on mode 2

    • Ling
      11/04/2012 at 11:38 am (6 years ago)

      @Joyce, Because the manual is a bit “iffy” in English, I have made up my own rules LOL. For mode 3, I like to use serums or a moisturising toner to let it absorb before applying moisturiser. That means you could use your serum! 🙂 Let me know how it works out for you 🙂

  14. lydia
    16/04/2012 at 12:01 am (6 years ago)

    hi ling !! im a lil bit confused with this because i think there’s 2 versions of hitachi hada crie moiture retention and the another one is ion cleansing am i wrong? if so.. do you know which one is better? hope
    you answer .. and thanks in advance..

    • Ling
      17/04/2012 at 4:29 pm (6 years ago)

      @lydia, I think they are both the same. Or are you talking about Face Crie??

      • lydia
        18/04/2012 at 2:54 pm (6 years ago)

        @Ling, No im not talkin about the face crie ..i think must be a bit diference btw them coz the one with ion is a lil bit more expensive than the moisture retention one..

        • Ling
          18/04/2012 at 2:59 pm (6 years ago)

          @lydia, Mine says “ion cleansing with moisturising support device”

  15. haruka
    06/05/2012 at 5:58 am (6 years ago)

    For step 1, can I use cleansing oil or cleansing cream??

    • Ling
      07/05/2012 at 3:09 pm (6 years ago)

      @haruka, I don’t use cleansing oil or cream but cleansing water is best

  16. Isabel Ong
    31/05/2012 at 10:05 pm (5 years ago)

    Gosh i just got Clarisonic for less than 2 months … not sure if i have seen results yet… my face still feels lumpy (small ones)…..

    just spent 100 on that..but sure if am going to spend 300 on this… sigh

    by the way ling – i saw your twitter that you bought dresses or was it jackets from ASOS. you putting a blog up on that soon? just wondering what sizes are you ordering. Am a 8-10 AUD size but my friends are asking me to order one size smaller than usual…

    • Ling
      02/06/2012 at 6:33 pm (5 years ago)

      @Isabel Ong, Yes, I got my dresses. The fitted one fitted fine…and then there was a baggy one which was baggy… but yeah, I think it just depends what style you order on ASOS. I will hopefully blog about them later next week 🙂

  17. Kathy
    10/06/2012 at 12:40 am (5 years ago)

    I just bought this at Fortress in Mongkok! I read the instructions and gave up, too hard to follow! Your instructions review are great

    • Ling
      10/06/2012 at 12:57 am (5 years ago)

      @Kathy, Yay! 🙂 Have fun with it!

  18. Cindy
    12/06/2012 at 12:13 pm (5 years ago)

    I’ve bought one in Broadway! They are in stock again! Yeey! But i’ve tried yesterday night.
    I used round cotton pad, but i didnt work!
    It doesnt sence my skin, why is it? Have i done something wrong?
    HElpppP!!!

    • Ling
      13/06/2012 at 3:42 pm (5 years ago)

      @Cindy, It doesn’t sense your skin??? Have you tried touching the side sensors? It won’t work unless you are gripping to the side. Let me know how you get on 🙂

  19. Cindy
    13/06/2012 at 3:50 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi,…yes i’ve touched the silver side.
    I have recharged for more than 5hrs again…and now it works!! 😀
    But….very stranged, it doesnt sence on my skin again in the beginning…took me 10min.
    So,..my treatment was done yesterday and it feels goooddd!! hahahaa..

    • Ling
      13/06/2012 at 4:05 pm (5 years ago)

      @Cindy, Yes! Great news 🙂 And yay to healthy and radiant skin!!! I love mine to death 🙂

  20. Cheraon
    17/06/2012 at 1:14 am (5 years ago)

    thanks for the great step by step instruction, but i want o ask if you still need to apply daily face lotion after step 3?

    • Ling
      18/06/2012 at 8:35 pm (5 years ago)

      @Cheraon, For me, I like to apply face lotion afterwards because I have dry skin. But if your skin is soft and hydrated, there is no need 🙂

  21. Tiffany
    07/07/2012 at 12:01 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Ling, I bought this little gadget about three weeks ago. I definitely love it. My pore on my cheek has reduced after three days of use. However, I do find that my cheek is abit red after using it. I really don’t know if I’m pressing the gadget too hard towards or face, or if the pad is too dry, or if it is irritating my skin. Also, on the manual it says not to use on the same area for more than 10 seconds per day, but you can use each function up to 5 minutes. I always think even if you use it on every single area of your face for 10 seconds, it still won’t take up to 5 minutes, right? What do you think about this? Also, do you have any idea about the redness on my cheek?
    Thank you 🙂

    • Ling
      08/07/2012 at 12:02 am (5 years ago)

      @Tiffany, For your redness, I would advise making the pad wetter and also, during Micro-Pat, make sure your face is very wet so it won’t burn and turn red. As for the 10-second rule, I think it meant not to hold it in the same place for longer than 10 seconds…? Anyway, I like to spread it right down to my neck and under my chin – so try that too 🙂

      Hope this helps Tiffany 🙂

      • Tiffany
        08/07/2012 at 2:01 am (5 years ago)

        Thank you Ling, I will try it! Also, I always see people posting some pictures on the internet. Their pads after cleansing were SO SO SO brown-yellow. Mine are always quite white~ I would say it’s slightly lighter than yours. I wonder if I’m not using that probably or if i’m cleaning my face that well!?!? Probably the amount of toner will affect the result. I tried three different brands of toner. They all give the similar result. What do you think about that? Thank you again!

        • Ling
          09/07/2012 at 9:18 pm (5 years ago)

          @Tiffany, Maybe you have a really clean face??

          • Tiffany
            09/07/2012 at 9:29 pm (5 years ago)

            Hehe I hope so! Thank you again!

            • Ling
              09/07/2012 at 11:09 pm (5 years ago)

              @Tiffany, No problem 🙂

  22. Elisa
    22/07/2012 at 10:09 pm (5 years ago)

    this sounds so good !! i haven’t seen this in asia before actually o_O.. wants !!

    • Ling
      24/07/2012 at 9:55 pm (5 years ago)

      @Elisa, Definitely worth getting one 🙂

  23. Linh Nguyen
    16/08/2012 at 8:59 pm (5 years ago)

    I received this in the mail today and cannot wait to try it. Hopefully it will work for my skin too 🙂

    • Ling
      17/08/2012 at 3:45 pm (5 years ago)

      @Linh Nguyen, Woohoo!!! You will love it! Let me know how it goes. And where did you buy yours?

      • Linh Nguyen
        17/08/2012 at 4:44 pm (5 years ago)

        @Ling, Omg omg I tried it last night and this morning too, I dont know if Im imagining or my skin got really soft and smoother,and also my breakout has significantly reduced –> miracle lol
        I got mine for AUD 170 from a Japanese ebay seller. If u wanna get it, I can possibly pass on the link, coz at least now that I have bought it, I know he is a trustable seller :).
        I have to thank u so much because I only decided to buy after reading ur review. I couldnt find many reviews on this before tho:) so thanks Ling <3

        • Ling
          17/08/2012 at 4:51 pm (5 years ago)

          @Linh Nguyen, That’s fantastic news Linh! Just be careful not to over-use it. If used too often, skin can get a bit sensitive.

  24. ashley
    04/09/2012 at 10:35 pm (5 years ago)

    Hello,

    After reading your blog I’m so tempted to buy!!! Just wondering does this help minimise pores? Thanks in advance! Ps: You are very pretty! (=

    • Ling
      04/09/2012 at 10:52 pm (5 years ago)

      @ashley, Hi Ashley, awww, thank you so much!!! It definitely minimises my pores! You will love it and you can now buy it on Amazon 🙂

  25. ashley
    04/09/2012 at 11:36 pm (5 years ago)

    (=(=(= You are welcome! Thanks for replying so fast!(= Actually I’m pretty torn between the two models N8100 and the N1000. N1000 model have a special function to minimise pores but slightly more ex as for the N8100 model it’s wireless n can use mask sheets with the refresh function which I’m really keen on. My main concern is big pores I wanna minimise it.. Does it help a lot on big pores? Thanks in advance!

    • Ling
      09/09/2012 at 7:25 pm (5 years ago)

      @ashley, No problem Ashley 🙂 And it has definitely minimised the appearance of my big pores by cleansing well. Pores cannot be minimised because they are hereditary but they can only look smaller with deep cleansing

  26. ands
    11/10/2012 at 4:00 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Ling, thanks for all the info on this product. I dunno if im getting confused but it sounds like you’re using 3 different kinds of toners? Is that what you need with this product? It’s just that i only use one toner in my daily skincare routine so would I not get the full benefit from it? my daily skincare regime at the mo is:

    makeup remover (oil)
    cleanser (foam)
    toner (liquid)
    serum (oil)
    moisturiser (cream)
    spf (gel)

    mask (gel)

    So if i was to use it with my current regime then would I only use one function out of the 4? Or if i did use it with cream / gel/ oil products then wouldnt’ the cotton pad soak it all up?

    Thanks in advance. x

    • Ling
      11/10/2012 at 9:31 pm (5 years ago)

      @ands, Hi ands, it is actually okay to just use one toner for all of the functions of the Hitachi Hada Crie – but I just wanted to use a range of toners for each function. It doesn’t work for cream / gel / oil products. I hope this helps… if not, keep asking me questions and I am happy to answer 🙂

  27. Heidi
    18/01/2013 at 9:57 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Ling,
    I am thinking of buying one and you review helps me to understand how to use this machine and what I need.
    Thx!

    • Ling
      30/01/2013 at 9:01 pm (5 years ago)

      @Heidi, Yay! How do you like it Heidi?

      • Heidi
        06/02/2013 at 10:12 am (5 years ago)

        @Ling,
        I haven’t bought it yet. I want to find out more first. What kind of toner you use with it?

        • Ling
          06/02/2013 at 11:32 pm (5 years ago)

          @Heidi, I use a few – Bioderma, Hada Labo, Ponds…any toner is good 🙂

  28. Candice
    31/01/2013 at 9:54 pm (5 years ago)

    I find my Cotton is dirtier after using the 3 rd mode instead of the 1st ? Does that mean I’m not using it properly? Or using the right toner (I’ve been using the same toner for all 3 steps and my cotton doesn’t really change color except slightly yellow after the 3 rd mode)

    • Ling
      03/02/2013 at 10:24 pm (5 years ago)

      @Candice, It’s fine. You must be removing more dirt so that is good 🙂

  29. Irene
    14/03/2013 at 7:47 am (5 years ago)

    Hi – thanks for the helpful info! I am in Canada and looking to get this. Are the ones sold in Hong Kong comes with English on the unit itself (cleansing, micro-pat, etc menu)? All the ones on ebay and amazon seem to have the japanese menu on the unit.

    • Ling
      17/03/2013 at 10:03 pm (5 years ago)

      @Irene, The one I got in Hong Kong has English on the unit itself

  30. Alice
    26/04/2013 at 12:55 am (5 years ago)

    Hi,

    Thanks for your review, it’s very helpful.

    I am quite confused first 3 steps. What are the differences between the toners used in Step 1 and 2? I believe the third step is to use moisturisers, but if I have a gel-type moisturiser, then it won’t be compatible? Thanks.

    • Ling
      19/05/2013 at 4:52 pm (5 years ago)

      @Alice, You can use the same toner for all 3 steps. I just like to change toners, but it is up to you 🙂

  31. mon
    21/04/2014 at 12:18 am (4 years ago)

    Hi Ling,
    May I know is it work for acne? and can i use it when i have acne problem?

2Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Review Of Hitachi Hada CRiE – Japan’s No. 1 Beauty Gadget