Maybelline Australia, Maybelline best new products, Maybelline makeup

This post is proudly brought to you by Maybelline & Nuffnang.

I’ve had a lot on my plate recently with juggling work responsibilities and parental duties with severe sleep deprivation which translates to tired, dull skin and D.A.R.K. under eye circles and bags.  Bring out the world’s smallest violin!

On the plus side, I realised that I was indeed the perfect candidate to trial and review Maybelline’s newest range – SuperStay Better Skin Foundation and Concealer.  Bring it on!

Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation

maybelline foundation, maybelline better skin foundation, Maybelline superstay range, maybelline super stay, maybelline australia

So first up, there’s the SuperStay Better Skin Foundation.  It is not like every other foundation because it contains a “powerful vitamin derivative”, Actyl-C, which claims to give better looking skin in 3 weeks.

Hello?!  A foundation which gives an all-day flawless finish AND has skin-benefitting properties – slap it on my face pronto!!!

maybelline foundation, maybelline better skin foundation, Maybelline superstay range, maybelline super stay, maybelline australia

I was an eager beaver to put this foundation to the test, but first, I needed to select the right shade out of the 8 available.

Maybelline Better Skin Foundation swatches, maybelline foundation swatches

Here is my verdict on Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation :

maybelline foundation, maybelline better skin foundation on face, maybelline on asian skin

PACKAGING :  Sturdy glass bottle with a dispensing pump always gets a big tick from me.  However, the clear plastic cap can get mucky if residual foundation is not cleaned immediately after pumping.

APPLICATION :  Very easy to blend into skin using fingers which is fantastic for time poor ladies like yours truly.

PERFORMANCE :  Medium coverage which did a great job at masking my freckles (I hate them!), evening out my skin tone and hiding my pores.  On occasion, I did find it clung onto some extremely dry patches on my skin around my nose, but on the whole, I loved how it made my skin look like I had a good night’s sleep – and we all know that I haven’t had that for a while!!!  As for improving my skin itself, there haven’t been any noticeable changes but at the time of writing, I have only trialled it for 10 days – so maybe it will get better with continued usage?  I’ll keep you posted!

Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer

maybelline concealer, maybelline better skin concealer, maybelline australia

Moving onto the SuperStay Better Skin Concealer; there are only 2 shades available and it’s either Light or Medium.

Here is my verdict on Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer :

Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer on Asian skin

PACKAGING :  Nice squeezy tube with a slanted tip gets no complaints from me.

APPLICATION :  Like the foundation, I can use my fingers to blend and pat this to cover up my imperfections (and there’s lots of that!)

PERFORMANCE :  Just wow!  It was love at first use!  Fantastic at disguising my dark circles and hiding the redness around my nose.  Can’t fault it at all.

Before & After Maybelline Makeup

maybelline australia, mnyau

I’m sure you will all agree that I look better in the After pic with makeup – my skin looks brighter, better and healthier, especially without those heavy dark eyebags.  Please note that these photos have not been airbrushed in any way.

maybelline foundation, maybelline better skin foundation, Maybelline superstay range, maybelline super stay, maybelline australia

Anyway, find out what other ladies are saying about the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin range here.

$100 Priceline Voucher Giveaway

Now onto this awesome giveaway for one lucky reader where you can win a $100 voucher to spend in Priceline.  All you have to do is leave a comment (with a vaild email address) with the answer to the following question :

What benefits of the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation most appeal to you and why?

This giveaway is now open till Friday 12th September 2014 5pm AEST for Australian residents only.  Get your thinking caps on because the most creative entry will win as judged by yours truly.  For full T&C’s click here.  Good luck everyone!

40 Comments on Review & Swatches : Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation & Concealer (plus a $100 Priceline Voucher Giveaway!)

  1. Tine @ Beautyholics Anonymous
    04/09/2014 at 12:04 pm (3 years ago)

    I’m pretty darn impressed at the Maybelline BetterSkin foundation. The coverage is similar to Revlon’s Nearly Naked but this one’s just a few notches better. I don’t know how to describe it but to me, it feels luxurious and expensive on the skin. I’ve compared it to my high end foundations and I still prefer this to a lot of the expensive stuff. It’s what I call a “my skin but heaps better” foundation.

  2. Ash
    04/09/2014 at 1:05 pm (3 years ago)

    I’ve been looking at picking up the foundation since it first arrived in Australia but I’m not sure that any of the shades will quite work for me :/ the concealer does look lovely though 🙂

  3. emmabovary
    04/09/2014 at 2:45 pm (3 years ago)

    I love the idea that the foundation doesn’t clog up your skin like some can, even though I know we cleanse each night I still prefer to treat my skin with respect throughout the day 🙂

    emma.m.brooks@gmail.com

    🙂 I love those Colour Elixirs they are so good!

  4. Tasha
    04/09/2014 at 8:02 pm (3 years ago)

    Both products sound amazing! I think that the finish of the foundation most appeals to me, it really looks and sounds like it made your skin radiant and healthy looking! I also like the idea that it is improving my skin as I wear it, though I’m not sure if I really believe it would! A gal can always hope! My email is tashi.yat@gmail.com

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

  5. Lauretta
    05/09/2014 at 2:05 am (3 years ago)

    The skin benefits from the foundation sound amazing! I too run around constantly on empty with my 2yo and lately my skin has been breaking out..ugh! Rather than daring to bare leaving the house makeup free, a vitamin C infused foundation that would benefit my skin could only be a good thing!

  6. CJ
    05/09/2014 at 9:45 am (3 years ago)

    The benefits to me would be the long lasting effect of the makeup, the range of colour choices, to cover up my imperfections and to enhance my skin.

  7. Sharon W
    05/09/2014 at 11:15 am (3 years ago)

    I love how the Superstay Better Skin foundation has powerful vitamin derivative in it. This sounds new and I’m keen to try! I’m in for anything that will benefit my skin without costing a bomb! 🙂

  8. San
    05/09/2014 at 11:26 am (3 years ago)

    I love the ease of use! Perfect for a very busy mom like me (who barely has 5 minutes to slap it all together on the face :P)

  9. Suz
    05/09/2014 at 11:35 am (3 years ago)

    I wish I had eye bags.

    Why? Because everyone should pack lightweight & compared to the eye luggage that I’m sporting these days, eye bags would be a big step up!

    Love the look and your review of the concealer, that one is definitely on my purchase list. Anything that can assist in disguising my eye luggage is a winner in my books!

    thesuzchef@gmail.com

  10. Selena
    05/09/2014 at 3:27 pm (3 years ago)

    I’m loving coverage the foundation and concealer have without plastering your skin. It looks natural and you can see your own skin still. The skin care benefits are a bonus! Can’t wait to stop by and get my own.

  11. Michelle
    05/09/2014 at 3:52 pm (3 years ago)

    The ability to have clearer looking skin in 3 weeks is what appeals to me the most and also that it contains vitamin C! I am still on the hunt to look for the best foundation that keeps my skin looking natural and this range has a variety of shades which also appeals to me too!

  12. Fei
    05/09/2014 at 4:27 pm (3 years ago)

    I’m most intrigued by the Actyl-C formula, which claims to improve your skin’s appearance in just 3 weeks. The skin-improving feature appeals to me the most because I developed some hyperpigmentation spots on my face during my pregnancy last year. My spots seem to continue to increase and my appetite for meat is growing; at this rate I’m likely to become a leopard in about 2 years’ time. But maybe the Actyl-C formula might stop that?

  13. Fei
    05/09/2014 at 4:52 pm (3 years ago)

    Further to my comment, my email is fay underscore zwitter at hotmail dot com. Thanks for the great comp!

  14. ash
    05/09/2014 at 7:35 pm (3 years ago)

    I need the redness covering! Due to rosacea, my face is basically a tomato.

  15. Minda Barley
    05/09/2014 at 9:11 pm (3 years ago)

    Superstay would be great for me as I don’t like reapplying foundation a second time later in the day. I get distracted at work and don’t have the time or motivation so if it would stay on for the whole day and make my skin look better I’d love to try it!

  16. Lillian
    05/09/2014 at 9:23 pm (3 years ago)

    I’m very interested in the formula, as it claims to give you better looking skin in three weeks! Really intrigues me as I am a sucker for skin care 🙂

    elle.dee@hotmail.com

  17. coco
    06/09/2014 at 1:59 am (3 years ago)

    A foundation that stays and benefits the skin… I want it!

  18. hannah
    07/09/2014 at 10:34 am (3 years ago)

    So you asked, What benefits of the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation most appeal to me and why?

    For me i’m not a huge foundation person as I feel like they clog up my skin and break me out. Even though you said it cloged up your skin where you have very dry areas, i’m lucky Don’t have dry skin.

    With this foundation I am happy that it is easy to blend using fingers which is great because I love using my fingers to apply foundation.

    I also love that even with using your fingers that it was a medium coverage, I am like you ,I have a lot of freckles and now that it is spring (almost summer) I will be getting a lot more of them so it will be nice to cover them up.

  19. Rachel Kriss-Newell
    07/09/2014 at 11:54 am (3 years ago)

    Two important factors stand out for me – hydration and SPF protection. I have very dry , very fair skin. At the end of the day I need a foundation that hasn’t left my skin feeling like sandpaper; along with protecting me from the harsh suns rays. I can’t afford to get sunburn and further dry out my already dry skin. If I can use a foundation that gives me the confidence to go about my day achieving these main things, I’m a happy girl.

  20. Karen Edwards
    07/09/2014 at 3:19 pm (3 years ago)

    Love the powerful vitamin derivative, Actyl-C to have better skin in only 3 weeks

  21. Jennifer B.
    07/09/2014 at 8:46 pm (3 years ago)

    Better skin in three weeks? Please take me there!
    But Maybelline SuperStay’s SPF14 is the best benefit, stopping melanoma skin despair.

  22. Michelle V
    08/09/2014 at 5:06 am (3 years ago)

    Due to the fact that I am an insomniac, combined with being a busy mum of 3, I have more bags than an airport baggage lounge under my eyes! So when I read that this product actually works and covers up the dark circles, that really appeals to me. I often feel self-conscious when I need to go out, and tend to hide behind sunglassse, but that always isn’t possible to do, of course. I have tried a couple of different products in the past, without achieving great results, and am not in the position financially to go out and buy a lot of different foundations to try and cover the dark circles. But this really sounds like something that could help. Thank you for including photos in your review as well; as it allows me to visually see how good this product is. Thank you for the opportunity to win such a great prize!

  23. Anna
    08/09/2014 at 9:30 am (3 years ago)

    pretty keen to try this though do you find it oxidises to an orangey colour after long? That’s what I’ve heard. The thing that most appeals to me of this foundy is the promise of better skin after use!

  24. Cathy Stone
    08/09/2014 at 7:45 pm (3 years ago)

    Wow, your results are impressive, I love the fact that the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation evens out your skin tone and covers your imperfections and the fact that it makes your skin look like you have had a good night sleep (even though you haven’t) are such a great benefits. It sounds like the perfect remedy that I need to use on my skin, after a few busy months of renovating. My skin has definately suffered and is in need of a pick up, it’s dull and dry and some unsighly red splotches have suddenly appeared on my cheeks which I’d love to disguise, (I feel like a bit of a clown) and my skin with lack of sleep has lost it’s radiance and shine. The Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin foundation could really make a huge difference to my skin and allow me to feel confidence about how I look. Thank you for the chance.

  25. Julia
    10/09/2014 at 4:23 pm (3 years ago)

    You look gorgeous without makeup! And you have freckles just like me. I try not to wear too much foundation any more, just BB cream 🙂
    xx

  26. jody buhagiar
    11/09/2014 at 6:01 pm (3 years ago)

    Shine-free, Long lasting, spf and a velvety matte finish. Everything I look for in a foundation. Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation sounds fantastic.

  27. Diana
    11/09/2014 at 8:56 pm (3 years ago)

    Hides pores!! Finally a foundation that does it.

  28. Helen
    11/09/2014 at 10:52 pm (3 years ago)

    I love the fact that it’s an all-day sunscreen! Having an energetic toddler means I’m constantly in and out all day so it’d be great if I didn’t have to think about whether I needed sunscreen, or if my sunscreen needed replenishing – even in winter I like to be sun safe with my whiter-than-white skin. Plus, impatient toddlers don’t like having to hang around for sun protection when there are muddy puddles to jump in!

  29. Melanie Jones
    11/09/2014 at 10:56 pm (3 years ago)

    The Flawless finish with the power to stay all day long as well as being gentle on my skin. The only place I’ll be shining is in my job!!

  30. Barbara
    11/09/2014 at 11:11 pm (3 years ago)

    The benefit of Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Foundation and concealer that most appeals to me is the ability to disguise dark, baggy eyes and hide Rudolf’s nose.

  31. amy m
    12/09/2014 at 12:00 am (3 years ago)

    Clearer skin in 3 weeks – feeling worn to a frazzle, eager to transform and dazzle!

  32. karina lee
    12/09/2014 at 12:41 am (3 years ago)

    It gets rid of bags! I have too many from my sleepless nights!

  33. KELLY WALTER
    12/09/2014 at 8:29 am (3 years ago)

    Love the Price as its the same price as my other Foundations i normally use, also now being pregnant my skin is extra dry at the moment as foundations tend to make it worse for me at the momment but this foundation is leaving my skin hydrated and feeling very smooth

  34. Beck
    12/09/2014 at 9:36 am (3 years ago)

    My skin in horrendous due to a medical condition and medication, the thought of a make up that could benefit my skin is amazing!

  35. Donna
    12/09/2014 at 10:36 am (3 years ago)

    I love the look of pump application, medium coverage and concealing my under eye dark circles.

  36. Sonya Nicole
    12/09/2014 at 1:26 pm (3 years ago)

    I love how it can conceal blemishes and dark shadows under the eyes, because I unfortunately have both!

  37. Di
    12/09/2014 at 2:52 pm (3 years ago)

    I’m constantly searching for my Holy Grail foundation, so it’s appealing that this product claims to improve your skin. I wear foundation nearly every day, so I might as well be Bettering my Skin in while I’m in my face paint!

  38. Candice
    12/09/2014 at 7:25 pm (3 years ago)

    It’s the ‘superstay’ aspect that appeals to me most because my skin is not know for it’s friendliness with makeup. Too often do I find myself hiding my eyes from the mirror due to makeup sliding off my face so being able to make friends with my face and enjoy an entire day with my makeup in place would be absolutely magical!

    candiceyoureview@yahoo.com

  39. Cathy Stone
    27/09/2014 at 9:17 pm (3 years ago)

    Thanks so much. Not sure if you got my email. Had issues with my email over the last few days.

    • Ling
      30/09/2014 at 10:05 am (3 years ago)

      @Cathy Stone, Thanks Cathy! I have passed the information over to the sponsors and they will send you the prize