Urban Decay in Australia, Urban Decay Mecca Maxima

Thanks to Nalini for requesting a review of the Urban Decay Good Karma Optical Blurring Brush I bought recently from Mecca.

So I’m not going to beat around the bush and I’m going to tell it to you straight – I almost love it.

Urban Decay Haul in Australia at Mecca Maxima

I’m probably being overly critical as I had high hopes for it especially seeing as it was $35 for this brush.

Don’t get me wrong because it looks great,  The handle is solid and it stands out from my other brushes.

Yes, the bristles are lovely and soft so it feels lovely on my skin…but it’s a tad too soft.

Yes, it can buff.  BB cream and foundation look flawless (compared to applying it with fingers!) and I can see why it’s called Optical Blurring.

But the bristles aren’t dense enough to give the feeling of awesome buffing.  I don’t know about you but I like that awesome buffing feeling on my face.

It’s like massages – I like those super deep massages where it’s hard to distinguish between pain and pleasure.

Does that make sense???

And that, my friends, is why I almost love this brush.  It only just missed the mark.

Shiseido foundation brush, perfect foundation brush, shiseido make-up brush

If you want the perfect foundation brush with that amazing buffing feeling, I would suggest paying a little bit extra for the Shiseido Perfect Foundation Brush $49 as it gets into those awkward spots and gives the best buffing.  You can totally tell from the densely packed flat top bristles in the photo, can’t you? 🙂

What foundation brush do you like?

12 Comments on Review : Urban Decay Good Karma Optical Blurring Brush

  1. KezUnprepared
    08/05/2015 at 11:22 am (2 years ago)

    I saw something like this at the shops the other day and I was wondering what they are like? I feel a little ignorant. What do they claim to do that a normal foundation brush might not do? So glad I have someone to ask! x

    • Ling
      20/05/2015 at 2:25 pm (2 years ago)

      Hi Kez, thanks for the awesome question. There are many foundation brushes out there and they all have different outcomes. I will answer in more detail in a forthcoming post so please bear with me 🙂

  2. Carmelita
    08/05/2015 at 4:28 pm (2 years ago)

    Ah, it looks so pretty. I’ve never tried any Urban Decay brushes before, going to check this one out for sure! x

    • Ling
      20/05/2015 at 2:25 pm (2 years ago)

      Let me know if you like it Carmelita 🙂

  3. Kiss & Make-up
    10/05/2015 at 2:18 am (2 years ago)

    Yeah I think I know what you mean, haha, it’s confusing right?

    • Ling
      20/05/2015 at 2:25 pm (2 years ago)

      Hehe, glad you understand me 🙂

  4. Norlin
    14/05/2015 at 11:16 am (2 years ago)

    I bought a buffing brush from Crown Brushes at the recent Salon Melbourne this year. Paid a premium for it – to me anything above $20 is a bloody premium. It’s soft but I have yet to actually use it on my face. That shiseido brush does look good though and I know what you mean by that “buffing” feeling.

    • Ling
      20/05/2015 at 2:28 pm (2 years ago)

      Why haven’t you used it yet? Still admiring from afar??

  5. Rebecca
    19/05/2015 at 1:24 pm (2 years ago)

    Shisedo make such great brushes – the medium eyeshadow is my HG for a smoky eye.

    • Ling
      20/05/2015 at 2:30 pm (2 years ago)

      Oooh thanks for letting me know. I shall have to check out their medium eyeshadows

  6. The Made Up Maiden
    21/05/2015 at 8:40 pm (2 years ago)

    Whoa, that was a surprise to see my name there! LOL!

    You know, everyone raves about this brush but I’ve asked a couple of good friends who own it what they think, and they said the same as you! Thanks for a great review, I completely understand what you mean, I like that ‘dense buffing feeling’ too! I think I’ll stick to my Zoeva buffing brush instead of getting this. I was just wondering if it would make the Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation even more awesome when used with it. 😉

    • Ling
      17/09/2015 at 4:53 pm (2 years ago)

      I need to try Zoeva brushes!! They look SO pretty!!!