Schick Hydro Silk review, Schick shaver review

When the Schick Hydro Silk Razor first landed into my hands, I immediately broke out into song :

Hey, I just met you

And this is crazy

But here’s my armpit

So shave me, baby!

(- an altered version of Carly Rae Jepsen’s Call Me Maybe)

LOL!  I’ve been testing the Schick Hydro Silk Razor for a few weeks now and I tell you, I sing that song every single time I use it!!!  Anyway, you’re not here to hear me sing so let me get onto my review of the Schick Hydro Silk Razor.


Here’s what Schick have to say about their latest offering :

“Schick Hydro Silk hydrates skin like no other razor can. This uniquely designed razor goes beyond an incredibly close shave to actually care for your skin. With Water-Activated Moisturizing Serum & 5 Curve-Sensing blades with skin guards to help protect skin from irritation, the Hydro Silk razor leaves skin feeling silky smooth!”


Here’s what I think about the Schick Hydro Silk Razor :

Long-time blog readers know that I ABSOLUTELY ADORE another Schick shaver { Schick Quattro For Women Trim Style } and I can confirm that the Schick Hydro Silk Razor is another winner because of the following features :-

  • The Water-Activated Moisturizing Serum :  I NEVER moisturise my armpits because who wants to touch that part of the body?  Not me!  And now I won’t have to because the Schick Hydro Silk Razor does that for me!!  YAY!
  • 5 Curve-Sensing Blades :  My armpit hair grows insanely fast but because these blades give an incredibly close shave, I get an extra day of hairless pits!  YAY!
  • The Extras :  It also comes with a free refill and a shower suction holder!  More value for your money – what’s not to love?


Wanna road test Schick Hydro Silk Razor?

Schick have teamed up with The Best Beauty Blog to look for 5 readers to road test the Schick Hydro Silk Razor.  Yes, you can break out in song too!  If you’re keen, please fill in the form and I will randomly pick 5 readers on Friday August 10th 2012 at 11.59pm AEST and you will get sent your own Schick Hydro Silk Razor to trial.  And once you have shaved a few times, you come back here and leave your opinions in the comment section by Friday August 31st 2012.  Easy peasy!

APPLICATION FOR THE TRIAL TEAM IS NOW CLOSED!

 

* This is a sponsored post brought to you by Schick in accordance with our Disclosure Policy

SubscribeTwitter | Facebook | YouTube | BlogLovin | Pinterest | Lip Stalker

13 Comments on Sponsored Post : Review of Schick Hydro Silk Razor

  1. Rin
    05/08/2012 at 5:49 pm (5 years ago)

    LOL… Now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head everytime I shave my legs ^_^

    • Ling
      08/08/2012 at 4:26 pm (5 years ago)

      @Rin, Yes, I have passed it on 🙂

  2. E-von
    05/08/2012 at 8:01 pm (5 years ago)

    This post made me laugh out loud, everyone at my house was wondering what I was giggling on about. Now I can’t get that song out of my head! Thanks…

    • Ling
      08/08/2012 at 4:27 pm (5 years ago)

      @E-von, LOLOL! I’m glad it’s contagious 🙂

  3. CELINA
    30/08/2012 at 6:08 pm (5 years ago)

    Hey guys, this is my review for the Schick Hydro Silk Razor:)

    Prior to this, I only ever used disposable razors because they were so much cheaper:P But I may just switch over to the Schick Hydro Silk Razor permanently. This razor gives a really close shave, much better than the disposable ones. It has a nice sturdy rubber grip and its maneuverable head allows for control and makes shaving armpits much easier. I really like that it comes with a shower suction holder as it’s really handy(no more razors lying on the bathroom sink:)). I didn’t really experience any of the moisturizing effects on my armpits but it left my arms and legs feeling silky smooth. Appearance wise, it’s not bad for a razor; I like the mint, blue and white combo. Overall, I probably would buy more refills when the ones I have wear out and yes, I would recommend this razor:)

    • Ling
      30/08/2012 at 8:08 pm (5 years ago)

      @CELINA, Yay, thanks Celina for being the first one to post up your review 🙂

  4. Sam
    30/08/2012 at 7:21 pm (5 years ago)

    I was one of the girls who trialed the Schick Hydro Silk Razor and I find it works superbly!

    Gave a really close shave which I found were much better than most razors. The moisturizing effect was great for the actual motion of shaving, that it feels smoother and a lot more gentle when you shave. My skin also felt softer after shaving in comparison to other razors too!

    Appearance-wise was appealing, the shower suction was handy in that I didn’t need to leave it lying around in some inconvenient place. The shape and structure of the razor was also good because it made it easy to grip.

    Overall, I would definitely buy the refills for it 🙂 best one I’ve used so far.

    • Ling
      30/08/2012 at 8:09 pm (5 years ago)

      @Sam, Woohoo! So glad you loved the Schick Hydro Silk Razor too 🙂 Hope you sang the song whilst shaving 😛

  5. Sue
    30/08/2012 at 8:49 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Ling, firstly I’m so sorry for the delay in writing this review!
    Overall I really liked this razor! It’s quite similar to the one I’ve been using for a few years which is the Schick Intuition razor so I had high expectations, coming from the same company. The Hydro Silk Razor is less chunky which is great and makes it easier to manoeuver. The moisturising effect is awesome – I hate with disposable razors how it often pinches at your skin and leaves red marks 🙁 ouch!!!! This gave a clean shave without any pain or anything. I like the shower suction as well, definitely an improvement on my old one as I would just leave it in the shower on the rack thing that holds my shampoos etc. I feel like this way it can dry properly too. I’m not a huge fan of the colour scheme (I think it can be more pretty :P) but other than that I don’t have many complaints. I would definitely consider buying refills and switching over to this razor permanently!

    • Ling
      31/08/2012 at 11:39 pm (5 years ago)

      @Sue, Woohoo 🙂 Great to read your review Sue 🙂

  6. Ira
    31/08/2012 at 11:40 pm (5 years ago)

    Sorry for the late review – I’m a procrastinator by heart! O.o

    I am in lust with Schick Hydro Silk! Prior to receiving this I would always purchase disposable razors because they’re much cheaper – but this razor has made me a believer! I would never get a close shave in my armpits with my previous razors, so I would have to shave a few extra times before I get a clean result. And we all know that the armpit skin is very sensitive, so shaving there would always damage my skin!

    However in comes Schick Hydro Silk with five blades and moisturizing serum to my armpits’ rescue! Not only does it give me a close shave every time I use it, it has also repaired my dry skin. I also like the rubbery, curvy handle (which btw, has such a nice colour!) and flexible head – makes shaving so much easier! Plus the bonus shower hanger is also very useful to hold the razor in place (however it did fall a couple of times whilst holding the razor which caused the razor’s head to come off but that was easily fixed!) I would definitely buy the refills and recommend this to all my friends!

    So yeah, use Schick Hydro Silk for a quicker, closer and all round best shave! The only downside is that I would find myself singing Ling’s shaving song whilst shaving – grrr… 😛

    • Ling {the best beauty blog}
      31/08/2012 at 11:46 pm (5 years ago)

      @Ira, It’s okay – I am a procrastinator too 🙂 And woohoo!!! Sing that song like you own it Ira 🙂

  7. amorette
    04/09/2012 at 8:24 pm (5 years ago)

    finally got this in the mail and i’m seriously impressed! though i’d prefer a different colour – shades of tangerine, red, green, or violet anyone? – using this razor is pure luxury. the rubber handle is easy to grip and hold on to, there are some rubber thingos on the head that help stretch the skin while shaving, the five blades give the closest shave ever and the nifty hanger keeps the blade from rusting away (a problem i’ve always had here in humid queensland). cannot say much about the serum as i use shaving gel anyway but will definitely buy again!