Before you read on, please note that the word “jojoba” (a shrub) is pronounced ho-ho-ba.  Don’t ask me why it is spelt with a “j” but pronounced silently with “h” –  *shrugs shoulders*

I was delighted to be sent two products from The Jojoba Company to review – Pure Australian Golden Jojoba and Jojoba Absolute Serum.  The packaging is oozing sophistication and the person who designed these bottles really knows how to seduce my eyes.  (And one of the best things is that once you have finished up using the product, I am sure you can reuse the bottle and put in something else like handwash.)

Of course, we all know that appearances can be deceiving so it’s what inside the bottle that really counts, but before I share my humble opinions on these products, let me tell you a bit more about this brand.

The Jojoba Company

This is a new skincare range created from pure Australian jojoba and it is proud to be free of parabens, sulphates, silicones, harmful chermicals, mineral oil and artificial fragrances, etc.  For the animal lovers, you will be happy to know that these products are not tested on animals and they also do not use animal derivatives.


Pure Australian Golden Jojoba

I cannot recall using skincare products which contain jojoba so at first, I mistook Golden Jojoba as an oil – it looks and feels like an oil, but it turns out that it is a liquid wax.  It boasts of being nature’s natural wrinkle fighter, antibiotic, anti-imflammatory, hypo-allergenic and analgesic.  It also contains Omega 6 and 9 fatty acids and vitamins A, D and E.  It has multiple uses including daily moisturiser, make-up remover, massage oil and to ease skin rashes.  It sounds amazing on paper but did it perform well on my skin?

After a few weeks of trialling this, I can testify that Pure Australian Golden Jojoba has done wonders on my skin.  But before you go leaping out to purchase this, please take note that when I used this, my skin was suffering from the effects of bitter cold Winter days combined with ducted heating at night.  I had patches of skin on my body which were dry, scaly and sometimes itchy and applying Golden Jojoba soothed it.

I prefer to use Pure Australian Golden Jojoba on the dry patches of my skin on my body than on my face as a moisturiser.  It was a bit too rich and oily for my face even though it lapped it up.  I stopped using it on my face after a few days so I cannot tell whether it would clog up pores.

When the seasons change, I am not too sure if my skin will need such a highly moisturising product.  I’ll just have to get my Husband to give me a back massage using this as a luxurious massage oil.

One of the best things about this product is that it comes in 3 different sizes so you can buy the smallest bottle first to see whether it agrees with your skin before committing to a larger bottle.

RRP in AUD :  30ml for $18.95  |  85ml for $22.95  |  175ml for $29.95

Likes No added chemicals, nourishing, soothes dry and itchy skin, subtle nutty scent, multiple uses, 3 sizes to choose from
Dislikes Only available in Australia and New Zealand at current moment in time
The Best Beauty Blog Rating 9 out of 10 for Pure Australia Golden Jojoba

 

Jojoba Absolute Serum

Although I found Pure Australia Golden Jojoba unsuitable for my face, the Jojoba Absolute Serum worked a treat.  After cleansing at night (I skip toner most of the time), I would apply this serum and it is so potent that only a tiny squirt is required to cover my face and neck.  Work fast because within 60 seconds of application, Jojoba Absolute Serum is absorbed and leaves no traces except the pleasant nutty scent behind.

85% of ladies who tested this said that they noticed a visible reduction of lines and wrinkles after 4 weeks.  I haven’t noticed any change in my fine lines but then that’s good enough in my books – I’d rather they stay the same rather than get worse.  This serum worked well under my evening moisturiser to smooth and hydrate my skin which has been suffering from the environmental conditions of Winter and ducted heating.

The key active ingredients in Jojoba Absolute Serum are Pure Australian jojoba (anti-inflammatory), hyaluronic acid (plumps), carnosine (di-peptide which prevents stiffening of collagen), lillpilly (high in vitamin C), Kakadu plum (vitamin C) and silymarin (effective radical scavenger).

RRP in AUD :  30ml for $79.95

Likes Smooths and refines skin, fantastic absorption skills, only need a tiny amount
Dislikes Only available in Australia and New Zealand at current moment in time
The Best Beauty Blog Rating 9.5 out of 10 for Jojoba Absolute Serum

 

I am definitely keen to try out more products in The Jojoba Company.  For more information, please visit http://www.thejojobacompany.com.au

16 Comments on The Jojoba Company Pure Australian Golden Jojoba & Jojoba Absolute Serum Review

  1. Vintage Makeup
    19/06/2011 at 12:53 pm (6 years ago)

    These sound great! It is too bad they’re only available in Aus & NZ!

    • Ling Tung
      21/06/2011 at 2:55 pm (6 years ago)

      @Vintage Makeup, It is a shame it isn’t available worldwide at the moment 🙁

  2. Me my best and I
    19/06/2011 at 5:42 pm (6 years ago)

    The primped beauty editors have raved about the oil, i had a play with them in my local health food store and it seemed to be quickly absorbed into my skin. have heard great things.

    • Ling Tung
      21/06/2011 at 2:56 pm (6 years ago)

      @Me my best and I, Definitely great for dry skin in this bitter cold winter season.

  3. Tracy D
    20/06/2011 at 8:11 am (6 years ago)

    I wish this was available in Canada!

  4. emmabovary
    20/06/2011 at 9:18 am (6 years ago)

    I use the pure Golden Jojoba on my face every night, haven’t found it to clog my pores at all (just to provide my opinion!) I have super dry skin on my face so loved this, the serum looks great though! I agree with you re:packaging I love the luxe glass this company uses, looks great on my vanity!
    xxx

    • Ling Tung
      21/06/2011 at 2:57 pm (6 years ago)

      @emmabovary, So it hasn’t clogged your pores? Cool…I may give it another try now that it is even colder in Melbourne

  5. Chris Black
    22/06/2011 at 4:24 pm (6 years ago)

    Hello Ladies, Chris from The Jojoba Company here. Jojoba has a remarkable affinity with human skin due to the structure of its molecules. 30% of the composition of skin sebum when you are young is comprised of wax esters. You also have glands in your eyelids that produce the protective film that protects the surface of your eyes from moisture loss. This film is 50% wax esters. Wax esters are huge, long, flat molecules that lay across each other to create the natural moisturising barrier in the outer layer of your skin, they also kill germs, smother viruses and dissolve dried sebum that may otherwise clog pores. You begin to lose wax esters after the age of 20 years of age. Jojoba is the only plant known to produce wax esters instead of plant oil. We cold press the golden jojoba liquid wax from beans grown in our Australian plantations. The molecular structure of our jojoba wax esters is almost identical to the wax esters in your skin sebum. Skin welcomes jojoba in as it senses that the jojoba wax esters are its own. Jojoba clears pores, helps skin pores and hair follicles to function as they should and provides the natural moisturising barrier for your skin. The jojoba based skin care products have our cold pressed golden jojoba as the hero ingredient. That’s why skin allows them to penetrate so quickly, and you get the underpinning wax ester benefits as well as powerful plant actives.

    • Ling Tung
      23/06/2011 at 10:50 am (6 years ago)

      @Chris Black, Wow, didn’t know about this. Thanks for sharing Chris! So informative 😀

  6. Chris Black
    22/06/2011 at 4:36 pm (6 years ago)

    Chris from The Jojoba Company again. We are in Australia, NZ and Korea. We are just finalising regulatory requirements to enter the most discerning markets worldwide, so Tracy D, you can either wait for our products to appear or buy from one of our online retailers in the meantime.

  7. Chris Black
    23/06/2011 at 12:07 pm (6 years ago)

    Chris from The Jojoba Company again. I’m pleased my information helped Ling. We are the first to really connect the dots and communicate the role of wax esters in human skin. The jojoba shrub evolved in the harshest, driest desert conditions. The plant evolved in isolation from other plants and took a completely different evolutionary pathway to all other plants. It produced wax esters in order to survive the intense solar radiation and to keep precious moisture in its deeper cells. The way this plant functions and the way human skin functions are remarkably similar. The jojoba shrub can live for 200 years. Another source of wax esters is in the muscle tissue the orange roughy fish which lives in the deepest coldest chasms of the ocean and can live for almost 150 years. Accelerated aging in human skin begins as wax ester production in skin decreases after maturity. That’s why jojoba is often referred to as nature’s wrinkle fighter. It’s also why skin welcomes jojoba in and why we see older skin absorb larger amounts of jojoba. The wax esters in jojoba put back what age takes away.

  8. Chris Black
    23/06/2011 at 12:54 pm (6 years ago)

    Chris from The Jojoba Company again. You haven’t heard this stuff before because jojoba has been misrepresented through modern history. The native Americans knew all about it and used jojoba in many aspects of their daily lives but when the first plant samples were collected from the Sonoran desert in Arizona and submitted for classification in London, the botanical name given to jojoba was Simmondsia chinesis. Simmondsia in honour of a British botanist who appears to have had nothing to do with its discovery, and chinensis as it was wrongly labelled as having come from China. It was then classified for international trade as a plant oil, which it is not, so modern history has recorded and described jojoba as jojoba oil which has kept it undiscovered as a protective golden liquid wax with affinity for human skin.

  9. Irene
    19/07/2011 at 1:21 pm (6 years ago)

    Thanks for the review!
    Chris are you able to let me know some stores in Victoria I am able to purchase products from your company? I had a look at the stockist list on your website and I called up some stores close to me but they didn’t stock it anymore. Thanks

  10. Irene
    19/07/2011 at 10:40 pm (6 years ago)

    thanks for that 🙂