At the time of writing, Australia has welcomed 2 BB creams into the market – Biotherm White D-Tox Translu.Cell BB Cream SPF 25 and Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Daily All-In-One BB Cream.  (For ease of writing, I shall refer to them as Biotherm and Garnier BB Creams instead of their long-winded names!)  I have been a big fan of BB creams for a long long time so I was delighted when I got my hands on both BB creams to test out.  (FYI, I got a free sample and I won a giveaway.)

What Is BB Cream?

BB cream is short for blemish balm and originates from Germany, even though it is highly popular in Asia.  It claims to heal skin and prevents wrinkles from its SPF content.  It’s not a tinted moisturiser because it is much thicker in texture.  I’ve been using BB creams for years now and I don’t see any healing on my scars, but I like Asian BB creams because it gives great coverage with high SPF and the shades can be a bit off but they blend very well.

Difference Between Asian BB Creams And The Aussie BB Creams

I think it’s important to establish that they are different.  Aussie BB Creams are thinner in texture, contain less SPF and more creamy than balmy.  I don’t know if that makes sense but it makes sense to me!  But saying that, I’m really loving the Australian BB creams!!  Let’s check them out…

Australia BB Cream

Biotherm BB Cream

Admittedly, I only have tiny samples of this – but a little goes a long way!  The shade is definitely too white on my skin but it blends out really well and keeps my face moisturised and shine-free.  In fact, I took one of these samples and used it at the ABBW and I used it for 3 days straight with no problems at all.  But I’ll be honest and say that I won’t repurchase unless there is a shade closer to my NC-30 skin.

Available from Adore Beauty for $49 AUD.

 

Garnier BB Cream

This product has been getting rave reviews from all over!  And I can see why!  It smells great, provides fantastic flawless coverage and requires little effort in blending because it glides on smoothly.  It’s closer to a tinted moisturiser than the Asian BB creams.

It comes in 2 shades – Light and Medium – but that’s the problem.  I am neither Light nor Medium – but thank God I won both of these from a giveaway because when mixed together, it is a perfect shade match!  In fact, I used it this morning to go to the hairdressers and I thought my skin looked really good seeing as I had to look at myself in the mirror for 2.5 hours at the salon.  The only downside is the lack of SPF with its measly 15 rating.  Pah!  If only Australian BB creams had extra oomph in SPF like the Asian BB creams.  Nevertheless, I can see myself repurchasing these highly affordable drugstore BB creams.


Available in drugstores and supermarkets around $15 AUD.

Have you tried any BB creams? Which are your favourite brands?

32 Comments on Australia BB Cream Reviews

  1. sarah abeachottage
    03/11/2011 at 10:27 am (6 years ago)

    nice review…I came in from Twitter 🙂

    I have been using the Garnier one for a while..and wrote a review/giveaway on it on my blog…I am loving it for my skin when I don’t want too much gunk on it…

    Sarah

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 12:20 pm (6 years ago)

      @sarah abeachottage, Twitter is awesome 😀 And yeah, Garnier BB cream is so light, I love it 😀

  2. Ashlynn
    03/11/2011 at 10:31 am (6 years ago)

    I want to try the Garnier one. I love the Skin79 BB Cream that I’m using. It’s the Gold one, and I have to wear it everyday. I bought the full sized one from Amazon on day, then bought one later that night from the mall, because I couldn’t wait. And then I went back and bought the full-sized one, because I really liked it and can’t wait for my Amazon order to come in. So, I’ll have two when it does come in – which should last me a while, lol!

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 12:20 pm (6 years ago)

      @Ashlynn, Oh yes, I like the Skin79 BB Cream too. I feel the Asian ones last longer because they are thicker…I don’t know..?? 😛

  3. Catherine @ The Spring
    03/11/2011 at 11:19 am (6 years ago)

    I just started using the garnier product on the recommendation of Sarah at A Beach Cottage. They’re so affordable, I’m going to buy the light shade as well and give mixing a go – I look VERY tanned wearing just the medium shade. In person, the glow they give off is nice, but in photos I feel this BB cream makes me too shiny. For daily use, they’re fantastic, but they don’t replace my bare minerals face products with SPF when the camera comes out!

    Such a pleasure to find your blog!

    – Catherine @ The Spring (in Brisbane)

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 12:23 pm (6 years ago)

      @Catherine @ The Spring, Ah yes, it’s true – the Garnier gives a nice radiant glow…but it can look very shiny and oily in photos. I feel the bare minerals enhances my pores in real life but looks good in photos. Bah…can’t win, eh? 😛

  4. wendiie ♥
    03/11/2011 at 12:01 pm (6 years ago)

    Oooo, I’ve been eyeing the garnier bb cream for a while now..
    Think I may have to purchase it very soon and test it out myself XD

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 12:21 pm (6 years ago)

      @wendiie ♥, Yes, it’s definitely worth trying and it’s cheap compared to the Biotherm one 😀

  5. Suzanne
    03/11/2011 at 1:22 pm (6 years ago)

    The Face Shop do one called Quick and Clear, and it’s really light and nourishing! I also have the Garnier one, which sadly is too dark for me (even the light one!).

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 3:01 pm (6 years ago)

      @Suzanne, I’ve heard so much about The Face Shop BB creams but haven’t tried them. And oh no – the lightest one is too dark? Boohoo!! Maybe it’s time to get a tan…?? 😛

  6. Angel
    03/11/2011 at 1:56 pm (6 years ago)

    I think the asian bb creams in my own opinion might have more benefits than the australian ones…the reason why its called bb cream after all is that it has added skincare factors. The western manufacturers seems to have forgotten that impt part. Its not supposed to be just a tinted moisturizer then labeled as bb cream. I think they are cheating ppl on that part.

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 3:02 pm (6 years ago)

      @Angel, I can see what you mean. Because the Asian BB creams claim to heal whereas Western BB creams are probably tinted moisturisers in disguise…good point! Maybe I should test some tinted moisturisers to compare…

  7. Jennifer Huang
    03/11/2011 at 3:16 pm (6 years ago)

    Oh wow, thanks for these reviews. i’m extremely jealous you Aussie’s have it coz NZ is still behind the time & i doubt we’re importing these anytime soon. (BLAH) However, I did get a (medium shade) sample from a lovely blogger from Australia and I have to say.. woah that is dark XD I don’t think I’m bright enough to be light either so hopefully I can try your blending methods and get a good result.

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 3:28 pm (6 years ago)

      @Jennifer Huang, NZ is totally behind times! You poor thing!! And blending is definitely the way to go if your skin is yellow-ish like mine 😀

  8. shavonn
    03/11/2011 at 3:46 pm (6 years ago)

    The Biotherm is much too light for me.

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 4:00 pm (6 years ago)

      @shavonn, As you can see, it is also too light for me…but it somehow works if you buff in some powder and the colour blends into skin 😀

  9. guitargalify
    03/11/2011 at 4:34 pm (6 years ago)

    I have the Garnier BB Cream in light. I’m very happy with it!! 😀 Especially the fact that it fits my skin tone. I’ve heard from a lot of people that it didn’t suit them as well as it has for me.

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 6:15 pm (6 years ago)

      @guitargalify, Perfectly made for you 😀 woohoo 😀

  10. ShuShu ♥
    03/11/2011 at 4:57 pm (6 years ago)

    oooh bb cream is originally driven by germans? i didn’t know.. i am living in germany but never seen any bb cream except for the new garnier bb cream. i am also using it now and i like it. but unfortunately my skin is that pale – the cream is little too dark for my skin Y_Y so i have to use light powder after applying cream otherwise you would see too much difference in colour..

    ShuShu ♥

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 6:17 pm (6 years ago)

      @ShuShu ♥, Yes, it was made in Germany first…but for people with burns…so maybe not for the cosmetic market. Hopefully, Garnier will make more colours to benefit everyone with different skin shades!

  11. Alice
    03/11/2011 at 6:23 pm (6 years ago)

    Ahh I just won a giveaway for Garnier BB creams!!! I Can’t wait to try it out especially after seeing this post! And it’s affordable too… compared to the Biotherm product.. ouch!

    • Ling
      03/11/2011 at 6:26 pm (6 years ago)

      @Alice, WOOHOOOO!!!! 😀 Yay, dontcha love winning giveaways LOL

  12. BoomBap
    04/11/2011 at 12:32 am (6 years ago)

    Garnier BB Cream here I come!

  13. Beauty girl
    11/05/2012 at 9:06 pm (5 years ago)

    Proactiv tinted moisturiser SPF 15 a great alternative for a BB cream comes in 3 shades non clogging and good for all skin typed. :-)).

  14. Sam
    24/08/2012 at 11:11 pm (5 years ago)

    Do you know of any bb creams that are good for really pink skin? I’ve heard most have yellow or grey undertones.

    • Ling
      27/08/2012 at 8:01 pm (5 years ago)

      @Sam, For pink skin…hmmm…not entirely sure…will try and do some research & get back to you… What skin type do you have? And are you looking for drugstore or high end product?

      • Sam
        29/08/2012 at 12:14 am (5 years ago)

        I have oily skin, and I live in Australia so everything is really expensive so the cheapest option would be best. Thanks 🙂

5Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Australia BB Cream Reviews